Bru Zane Label CD-book French Opera
Camille Saint-Saëns
Kazuki Yamada conductor

with Kate Aldrich,
Julien Dran,
Anaïs Constans,
Jérôme Boutillier,
Anna Dowsley
'French opera' series vol. 39 | BZ 1055
World premiere recording
2 CDs - 144 pages

‘It will be a strange score: people will either not like it at all, or will like it enormously’, prophesied Camille Saint-Saëns a few days before the premiere of Déjanire. The opera, first performed in Monte Carlo on 14 March 1911, is based on incidental music written in 1898 for the Béziers Arena. Fascinated by the subject, the composer soon wanted to give it a second, more ambitious life. He therefore conceived a mythological epic that inspired ‘powerfully evocative music’, according to Gabriel Fauré, who was struck by the impact of the choral writing.

Yet the love drama that rends the heroine’s heart engenders wildly romantic duets and culminates in the public immolation of Hercules, set ablaze by the poisoned tunic offered to him by the fallen queen. This new Déjanire received high praise from the critics, who flocked to Monaco to see it. But the modernist path that French opera was taking at the time did not allow the work to survive the upheavals of the First World War. It would have been a shame to prolong this unjustified ostracism any longer.

Recorded at Auditorium Rainier III, Monaco, on 12-16 October 2022.
Éditions Durand.

Table of contents
Alexandre Dratwicki, Death and transfiguration
Vincent Giroud, The last opera of Saint-Saëns
Sabine Teulon Lardic, Reinventing tragedy ‘à l’antique’: Déjanire at the Béziers Arena
Gabriel Fauré, The evening of the premiere
What the papers said
Cast - Tracklist


CD 1

Acte premier
01 Prélude
02 Chœur : Hercule, fils d’Alcmène (Chœur)
03 Scène : Iole, hélas ! triste victime (Iole, Chœur)
04 Duo : Ô toi, le plus fidèle (Hercule, Philoctète)
05 Scène et Arioso : Eh ! qui vient là ? Phénice ! (Phénice, Hercule, Philoctète)
06 Air : Ô cruauté des dieux ! (Philoctète)
07 Duo : Ô vous dont l’âme fut clémente (Iole, Philoctète)
08 Chœur : Comme la Ménade en délire (Chœur)
09 Entrée de Déjanire : Où que tu sois, Junon (Déjanire, Phénice)

Acte deuxième
10 Prélude
11 Air : Ce n’est pas comme vous (Iole)
12 Duo : Je te vois, et sans qu’on te nomme (Iole, Déjanire)
13 Duo : Hercule vient ! il va paraître ! (Déjanire, Hercule, Chœur)
14 Scène : Fais avertir Iole par ses femmes (Hercule, Philoctète)
15 Duo et Scène : Près de vous je croyais retrouver (Iole, Hercule, Philoctète)
16 Imprécation avec chœur : Eh ! quoi, Philoctète infidèle (Hercule, Chœur)
17 Prière : Pallas, vierge prudente et sage (Iole, Chœur)

CD 2

Acte troisième
01 Prélude et Arioso : De mes enchantements (Phénice, Déjanire)
02 Air : Triomphant de multiples épreuves (Déjanire)
03 Duo : Ô Reine, sauvez-moi ! (Iole, Déjanire, Chœur)
04 Duo : J’ai dormi dans la fraîche rosée (Déjanire, Hercule)
05 Duo : Où vas-tu, femme ? (Iole, Hercule, Chœur)
06 Scène : À quelques pas, dans l’ombre (Iole, Déjanire, Philoctète)
07 Scène : Philoctète, demeure ! (Déjanire)
08 Arioso : J’ai chargé ce tissu (Déjanire, Phénice)
09 Prière avec chœur : Ô toi qui fais trembler la terre (Iole, Phénice, Déjanire, Chœur)

Acte quatrième
10 Prélude et Cortège
11 Scène : Peuple, réjouis-toi ! (Hercule, Chœur)
12 Air : Viens, ô toi dont le clair visage (Hercule)
13 Scène : Prince, je reçois ton hommage (Iole, Hercule, Déjanire, Phénice, Philoctète)
14 Épithalame : Éros, délices de la terre (Chœur)
15 Scène : Les larges fleurs de sang (Déjanire, Hercule)
16 Invocation : Ô Jupiter ! Dieu, père, souverain (Chœur)
17 Scène : Ah ! quel feu dévore ma chair ! (Hercule, Déjanire)
18 Apothéose : L’invincible Hercule succombe (Chœur)

Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
The website hosts articles on people, works and topics authored by musicologists and historians collaborating with Palazzetto Bru Zane.