Le Timbre d'argent

Bru Zane Label CD-book French Opera
Camille Saint-Saëns
LES SIÈCLES ACCENTUS François-Xavier Roth conductor with Hélène Guilmette, Jodie Devos, Edgaras Montvidas, Yu Shao, Tassis Christoyannis, Jean-Yves Ravoux, Matthieu Chapuis
'French opera' series | Bru Zane
Volume 25 | BZ 1041
2 CD - 164 pages

Saint-Saëns’s first opera, Le Timbre d’argent – initially composed in 1864 – need not fear comparison with some of the most celebrated works in the nineteenth-century French repertory. It depicts the nightmare of a man whose hallucinations anticipate by twenty years the fantastical apparitions of Offenbach’s Les Contes d’Hoffmann. A manipulative diabolical figure gives the hero a silver bell that he must ring to obtain the gold that will enable him to gain the love of the beautiful Circé; in exchange, a supposedly random victim must perish. But first Conrad’s father-in-law, then his best friend are the ones to die. The flashback that resolves the drama already prefigures the cinematic devices of the following century. Le Timbre d’argent is presented here in its final version, dating from 1914, the last of ten revisions over a period of almost fifty years. The dynamic conducting of François-Xavier Roth and the exceptionally precise and fiery performance of the period-instrument orchestra Les Siècles demonstrate that Saint-Saëns was doubtless right to persist in considering the work as one of his masterpieces.

Recorded at the Studio de la Philharmonie de Paris on 26 and 27 June 2017, after the staged performances at the Opéra Comique on 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 June 2017, as part of the 5th Festival Palazzetto Bru Zane Paris. Production: Opéra Comique | Coproduction: Palazzetto Bru Zane

Contents of the book
Agnès Terrier & Alexandre Dratwicki, When the hour of rediscovery strikes
Hugh Macdonald, Le Timbre d’argent and its transformations
Marie-Gabrielle Soret, The genesis of Le Timbre d’argent
Gérard Condé, Much more than a trial run
Camille Saint-Saëns, A word from the composer


CD 1

Act I

1. Ouverture
2. Scène : Nuit d’ivresse et de fête !... (Bénédict, Chœur)
3. Scène : Eh bien ? (Hélène, Rosa, Bénédict, Spiridion, Chœur)
4. Chœur : Ô vain mirage ! (Chœur)
5. Scène : Quoi ? Vous partez ? (Hélène, Rosa, Bénédict)
6. Prière : Ô Vierge mère (Hélène, Rosa)
7. Scène : Bénédict, quelles sont ces clameurs ? (Bénédict, Conrad)
8. Mélodie : Humble et pauvre, es-tu donc heureux ? (Bénédict, Conrad)
9. Scène : Non, non ! que parles-tu d’unir à ma détresse (Bénédict, Conrad)
10. Scène : Carnaval ! Carnaval ! (Conrad, Chœur)
11. Air : Dans le silence et l’ombre (Conrad)
12. Scène : Carnaval ! Carnaval ! (Conrad, Chœur)
13. Chœur : Circé ! renais à la vie (Chœur)
14. Scène : Ô rêve d’amour !... (Conrad, Bénédict, Spiridion, Chœur)

Act II

First tableau
15. Entracte et Chœur : Gloire à la belle (Chœur)
16. Scène : Un collier manquait aux atours (Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
17. Pas de l’abeille et Scène : Fiametta ! (Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
18. Scène du jeu : À vous les dés, marquis (Conrad, Patrick, Spiridion, Chœur)
19. Scène : Pardon, ami Conrad (Bénédict, Conrad)
20. Romance : Le bonheur est chose légère (Hélène)
21. Scène : Dieu ! j’ai cru... (Bénédict, Conrad)
Second tableau
22. Chœur et Scène : Séduisante almée (Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
23. Chanson napolitaine et Scène : Qui je suis ? (Spiridion, Conrad, Chœur)
Third tableau
24. Scène : Ô merveille ! (Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
25. Finale : Dans le bruit et dans l’ivresse (Spiridion, Chœur)

CD 2

1. Finale (suite) : Vivat ! vive le vin (Conrad, Patrick, Spiridion, Chœur)


2. Prélude
3. Chœur : Voici le seuil hospitalier (Chœur)
4. Scène : La voici, mes amis (Un mendiant, Rosa, Chœur)
5. Scène et Duo : C’est là, là que mes mains (Hélène, Conrad)
6. Scène : Pardon, seigneur Conrad (Hélène, Conrad, Spiridion)
7. Scène : Quel trouble s’empare (Conrad)
8. Scène : Bien joué ! (Bénédict, Spiridion, Chœur)
9. Duo : L’humble papillon de nuit (Rosa, Bénédict, Chœur)
10. Scène : Holà, mes amis ! (Rosa, Bénédict, Spiridion, Chœur)
11. Chœur : Plus vive que l’oiseau (Chœur)
12. Finale : Ha ! Heiza ! (Hélène, Rosa, Bénédict, Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)

Act IV

First tableau
13. Scène : Quelle invisible main me pousse (Conrad, Chœur)
Second tableau
14. Chœur et Scène : Carnaval ! Carnaval ! (Conrad, Chœur)
15. Scène : L’oiseau perdu dans l’espace (Hélène, Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
16. Ballade : Sur le sable brille (Spiridion, Conrad, Chœur)
17. Scène : À moi ! filles d’enfer ! (Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
18. Scène : Que me veux-tu ?... (Hélène, Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
19. Scène : Je ne suis qu’une humble fille (Hélène, Conrad, Chœur)
20. Scène et Trio : Hélène ! (Hélène, Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)
21. Scène : Mais non (Hélène, Conrad, Bénédict, Chœur)
Third tableau
22. Scène finale : Ô Vierge mère (Hélène, Rosa, Bénédict, Conrad, Spiridion)
23. Scène finale (suite) : À vous mon âme ! (Hélène, Rosa, Bénédict, Conrad, Spiridion, Chœur)

Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
The website hosts articles on people, works and topics authored by musicologists and historians collaborating with Palazzetto Bru Zane.