The world of César Franck (1822-90)


Opera in five acts, music by Camille Saint-Saëns and Ernest Guiraud with the collaboration of Paul Dukas, libretto by Louis Gallet, premiered at the Paris Opéra on 16 December 1895.
When Ernest Guiraud died leaving his Frédégonde unfinished, Saint-Saëns agreed to complete the work on condition that he would receive assistance from the young Paul Dukas, who had the task of orchestrating half the opera. Both men were fascinated by the bloody rivalry between Brunhilda and Frédégonde.


Sat 20 November 2021
Theater Dortmund, Dortmund
Sun 21 November 2021
Theater Dortmund, Dortmund
Sat 7 May 2022
Theater Dortmund, Dortmund
Sun 22 May 2022
Theater Dortmund, Dortmund


Gabriel Feltz, Motonori Kobayashi conductor
Marie-Ève Signeyrole direction
Fabien Teigné set design
Yashi costumes
NN lighting
Laurent La Rosa video
Julie Compans choreography
Fabio Mancini chorus director
Dr Merle Fahrholz dramaturgy
Thomas Hannig rehearsal director
Fabian Schäfer production manager
Aymeric Catalano language coach
Dominik Kastl, David Martinek assistant directors
Ulas Nagler, Alexander Becker stage managers
Adriana Naldoni prompter
Marlon Otte director of stage actors

Frédégonde Marie Karall, Hyona Kim
Brunhilda Anna Sohn
Mérowig Pene Pati, Young Woo Kim
Hilpéric Mandla Mndebele
Fortunatus Sungho Kim
Prétextat Denis Velev
Landéric Philipp Kranjc
Un Serviteur Ian Sidden


Frédégonde by Camille Saint-Saëns and Ernest Guiraud in collaboration with Paul Dukas
Staged performance
Co-production Theater Dortmund / Palazzetto Bru Zane
Scores published by the Palazzetto Bru Zane
Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
Camille Saint-Saëns