Bru Zane Label CD-book French Opera
Louise Bertin
Christophe Rousset conductor

with Karine Deshayes, Karina Gauvin, Ante Jerkunica, Nico Darmanin,
Marie Gautrot, Diana Axentii,
Thibault de Damas
'French opera' series vol. 38 | BZ 1054
World premiere recording
2 CDs - 192 pages

It was around 1825 that Louise Bertin, pupil of Reicha and friend of Berlioz, tackled the subject of Faust with all the energy and confidence of a young woman of twenty. She entirely exceeded the public’s expectations and won over the critics with her daring. Colourful orchestration, charming cantabiles, vigorous choruses – everything seemed to promise the work would enter the repertory.

But the closure of the Théâtre-Italien after just three performances in 1831 decided otherwise, and the score languished in the vaults of the Bibliothèque Nationale de France for 190 years. Though created with a tenor Fausto, the opera was conceived for a mezzo soprano, Rosmunda Pisaroni. It is this initial version – never heard before, even in the composer’s lifetime – that is championed by Christophe Rousset in a complete recording with period instruments.

Once again, Les Talens Lyriques and the Palazzetto Bru Zane join forces in an adventurous French operatic rediscovery.

Recording from 15 to 18 June 2023 at the Seine Musicale (Paris).
Palazzetto Bru Zane musical editions.

Table of contents
Alexandre Dratwicki, A second youth for Fausto
Céline Frigau Manning, The Théâtre-Italien de Paris at the time of Fausto
Hélène Cao, From Goethe to Louise Bertin: adaptation and appropriation
Alexandre Dratwicki, ‘The undertaking was a bold one’
Cast - Tracklist


CD 1

01 Ouverture

Atto I: La tentazione
02 No 1a Introduzione: Tutte volsi e rivolsi (Fausto)
03 No 1b Aria: Il vago sol del mondo (Fausto)
04 No 1c Scena con coro: Qual m’assorda rumor? (Fausto, Coro)
05 No 1bis Recitativo: Chi fia quest’importuno? (Fausto, Wagner)
06 No 2 Terzetto: Vezzosa giovinetta (Fausto, Wagner, Margarita)
07 No 2bis Recitativo: Debbo venir anch’io? (Fausto, Wagner)
08 No 3 Duetto: Sorgi al mio cenno, o Satana (Fausto, Mefistofele)
09 No 4a Finale: Zitto, zitto, state attenti (Fausto, Mefistofele, Coro)
10 No 4b Scena con coro: Dite, amici, ove n’andò la vecchia? (Fausto, Mefistofele, Coro)
11 No 4c Scena della strega: Qual sovramana possa (Fausto, Mefistofele, una Strega, Coro)

Atto II: La felicità
12 No 5 Canzonetta e Coro: Fuggite amor (Margarita, Marta, Catarina, Coro)
13 No 5bis Recitativo: Ecco, tornata è in casa (Fausto, Mefistofele)
14 No 6 Duetto: Signora amabile (Fausto, Margarita)
15 No 7a Scena: Chi sarà mai quel vago (Margarita)
16 No 7b Cavatina: Palpita nel seno gelido il cor (Margarita)
17 No 7bis Recitativo: Quanto tempo, mia cara (Margarita, Catarina)
18 No 8 Duetto: Vi saluto, madama (Mefistofele, Catarina)
19 No 8bis Recitativo: Chi avrebbe mai creduto (Mefistofele)
20 No 9 Finale: Fra quell’ombra (Margarita, Catarina, Fausto, Mefistofele)

CD 2

Atto III: Il misfatto
01 No 10a Preghiera: Abbassa, ohimè, Madre beata e santa (Margarita, 6 Donne, Coro)
02 No 10b Scena: Vergogna! (Margarita, Coro)
03 No 11 Aria: Ah, mi batte il cor nel petto (Valentino)
04 No 11bis Recitativo: Ecco il german! Conviene (Mefistofele, Valentino)
05 No 12a Finale: Che intesi! O cruda sorte! Il patrio tetto (Valentino, Fausto, Mefistofele)
06 No 12b Concertato: O trionfo! (Valentino, Fausto, Mefistofele)
07 No 12c Stretta: Che sussurro! Che spavento! (Margarita, Marta, Valentino, Coro)

Acte IV: La pena
08 No 12bis Recitativo: Ebben, che c’è di nuovo? (Fausto, Mefistofele)
09 No 13a Aria: O fier tormento rio! (Fausto)
10 No 13b Cantabile: Deh guarda, o ciel clemente (Fausto, un Banditore)
11 No 13c Stretta: A morte vergognosa! (Fausto)
12No 13bis Recitativo: Risolvete, dottor! (Mefistofele, Fausto)
13 No 14a Finale: Margarita! Margarita! (Fausto, Margarita)
14 No 14b Finale: A questi dolci accenti (Fausto, Margarita)
15 No 14c Cantabile: Meco è già la morte (Fausto, Margarita, Mefistofele)
16 No 14d Stretta: Ah, qual voce d’ìntorno rimbomba? (Fausto, Margarita, Mefistofele, Coro)

Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
Louise Bertin