Bru Zane Label CD-book French Opera
Félicien David
Hervé Niquet conductor
with Véronique Gens, Karine Deshayes, Edgaras Montvidas, Nicolas Courjal, Julien Véronèse
'French opera' series | Bru Zane
Volume 10 | ES 1020
2 CDs - 160 pages

Félicien David was already famous through his ‘ode-symphonie’ Le Désert (1844) when his opera Herculanum was first staged at the Paris Opéra in 1859. This ambitious work, later to gain him entrance to the Opéra-Comique and the Institut de France, also played a part in earning him the Légion d’Honneur. Leaving behind the Middle Eastern inflections of his earlier scores, Herculanum is a remarkably strong composition (vast, intensely dramatic scenes), impressive in the diversity of its style (including Verdian influences) and its vocal variety (including the rare coloratura contralto voice often used by Rossini). There is also a fantastic vein, as made popular by Boieldieu (La Dame blanche, 1825) and Meyerbeer (Robert le Diable, 1831); but the supernatural is used here to serve an openly stated mysticism: the eruption of Vesuvius brings a spectacular, cataclysmic ending, signifying the decadence of the ancient world and the triumph of Christianity.

Contents of the book
Ralph P. Locke, Félicien David: not satellite but star
Étienne Jardin, 'Herculanum' in David’s output
Hector Berlioz, An account of the première
Alexandre Dratwicki, 'Herculanum' in a time of change in French grand opéra
Gunther Braam, The reception of 'Herculanum' in the contemporary press
Joseph Méry, To Lilia


CD 1

1- Introduction

Act I

2- Gloire, gloire à toi (Nicanor, la Cour d’Olympia)
3- Oui, j’ai passé les mers (Olympia, Nicanor, la Cour d’Olympia)
4- Marche
5- Pour célébrer le jour (Nicanor)
6- Du sang ! Du sang ! (Olympia, Nicanor, la Cour d’Olympia)
7- Dans une retraite profonde (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Nicanor)
8- Votre Dieu, votre foi (Olympia, Nicanor)
9- Le monde est conquis (La Cour d’Olympia)
10- Quels sont les noms (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios)
11- Noble Hélios, en ton absence (Olympia, Hélios)
12- Réponds ! (Olympia, Hélios)
13- Tout est soumis à ma puissance (Olympia)
14- Déesse des plaisirs (Olympia, Hélios)
15- Buvons ! Buvons encore à la Reine ! (La Cour d’Olympia)
16- Les convives joyeux boivent (Olympia)
17- Bois ce vin que l’amour donne (Olympia, la Cour d’Olympia)
18- Hélios ! Obéis (Olympia, Hélios)
19- Dieu ! Quel monde nouveau (Olympia, Hélios, la Cour d’Olympia)
20- À toi, reine ou déesse ! (Olympia, Hélios)
21- Je veux aimer toujours (Olympia, Hélios, la Cour d’Olympia)
22- Malheur ! Malheur ! (Olympia, Nicanor, Magnus, la Cour d’Olympia)
23- Un ange m’apparut (Olympia, Nicanor, Magnus, la Cour d’Olympia)
24- Rions de ce prophète (Olympia, Nicanor, Magnus, la Cour d’Olympia)

Act II

25- Prélude
26- Seuls, dans la nuit (Les Chrétiens)
27- Roi du ciel (Les Chrétiens)
28- Gardes ! Dispersez-la (Lilia, Nicanor)
29- Non, je ne puis souffrir (Lilia, Nicanor)
30- Toi chrétien ! (Lilia, Nicanor)
31- Oui, j’ai menti (Lilia, Nicanor)
32- Me voilà libre enfin (Lilia, Satan)
33- Je veux aimer toujours (Lilia, Hélios, Satan, Chœur)

CD 2


1- Ô jour d’ivresse ! (La Cour d’Olympia)
2- Ce palais... ce festin (Olympia, Hélios)
3- Ô jour d’ivresse ! (La Cour d’Olympia)
4- Pas des Muses
5- Hélios !... Il est là... (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, la Cour d’Olympia)
6- Je crois au Dieu (Lilia, la Cour d’Olympia)
7- Qu’on l’emmène (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan)
8- Suis-la donc (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan)
9- Parle, réponds, décide ! (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan)
10- Hélios ! Je t’appelle (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan)
11- Enfin tu crois à ma tendresse ! (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan, la Cour d’Olympia)

Act IV

Premier tableau
12- Prélude
13- Oui, Satan est vainqueur (Satan)
14- Le proconsul ! (Satan, les Esclaves)
15- Amis, marchons ! (Satan, les Esclaves)
16- Allez, dans la nuit profonde (Satan, les Esclaves)

Deuxième tableau
17- Dieu ne m’a pas frappé (Lilia, Hélios)
18- Oui, j’ai mérité l’anathème (Lilia, Hélios)
19- Ah ! Malgré moi, j’oublie (Lilia, Hélios)
20- Mon Dieu ! Ce pardon qu’il demande (Lilia, Hélios)
21- Viens ! La mort, qui nous purifie (Lilia, Hélios)
22- Ah ! Malheur ! (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan, Magnus, le Peuple)
23- Ô terreur ! (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan, Magnus, le Peuple)
24- Eh bien ! S’il faut que dans ce jour (Lilia, Olympia, Hélios, Satan, Magnus, le Peuple)

Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
The website hosts articles on people, works and topics authored by musicologists and historians collaborating with Palazzetto Bru Zane.