La Périchole

Opéra-bouffe in two acts, first performed at the Théâtre des Variétés, Paris, on 6 October 1868. Second version, in three acts, premièred at the same theatre on 25 April 1874.
Opera Light Music Opéra de Dijon Opéra de Toulon Théâtre des Champs-Élysées
Sun 13 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Mon 14 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Tue 15 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Fri 18 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Sat 19 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Sun 20 November 2022
17.00
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Wed 23 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Thu 24 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Sat 26 November 2022
19.30
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Sun 27 November 2022
17.00
Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Paris
Wed 28 December 2022
20.00
Opéra de Toulon, Toulon
Fri 30 December 2022
20.00
Opéra de Toulon, Toulon
Sat 31 December 2022
20.00
Opéra de Toulon, Toulon
Sun 15 January 2023
15.00
Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
Tue 17 January 2023
20.00
Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
Thu 19 January 2023
20.00
Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
Sat 21 January 2023
20.00
Opéra de Dijon, Dijon
Although La Périchole is now one of Jacques Offenbach’s most famous opéra-bouffes, its genesis and creation were not particularly promising. After the great successes of 1867, when Offenbach was billed simultaneously at four different theatres in Paris, 1868 got off to a disastrous start with the failure of Le Château à Toto and the unsuccessful revival of Le Pont des soupirs. However, Offenbach’s fears were allayed in the autumn of that year with the première of L’Île de Tulipatan. La Périchole came next, presented at the Théâtre des Variétés on 6 October 1868 with Hortense Schneider in the title role. Its few successful numbers (the “couplets espagnols” and the letter song, “O mon cher amant”) were not sufficient to keep the work in the repertoire, given the particularly tense political climate of that time. The work did not find its way back to the stage until after the Franco-Prussian war of 1870, and by that time it was in a substantially revised three-act version.
LES MUSICIENS DU LOUVRE
CHŒUR DE L’OPÉRA NATIONAL DE BORDEAUX-AQUITAINE
Marc Minkowski conductor*

ORCHESTRE ET CHŒUR DE L’OPÉRA DE TOULON
Laurent Campellone conductor*

ORCHESTRE DIJON BOURGOGNE
CHŒUR DE L’OPÉRA DE DIJON
Laurent Campellone conductor*

Laurent Pelly staging and costumes Chantal Thomas sets
Joël Adam lighting
Agathe Mélinand adaptation of the dialogue

La Périchole Marina Viotti, Antoinette Dennefeld*
Piquillo Stanislas de Barbeyrac, Philippe Talbot*
Don Andrès de Ribeira Laurent Naouri, Alexandre Duhamel*
Le Comte Miguel de Panatellas Rodolphe Briand
Don Pedro de Hinoyosa Lionel Lhote
Guadalena / Manuelita Chloé Briot
Berginella / Ninetta Alix Le Saux
Mastrilla / Brambilla Éléonore Pancrazi, Valentine Lemercier*
Frasquinella Natalie Pérez

*variabile cast
Co-production Théâtre des Champs-Élysées / Opéra Royal de Wallonie-Liège / Bühnen Bern / Opéra de Dijon / Opéra de Toulon / Palazzetto Bru Zane
Score published by the Palazzetto Bru Zane
Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
The website hosts articles on people, works and topics authored by musicologists and historians collaborating with Palazzetto Bru Zane.