Throughout the season

Peggy Guggenheim Anniversary Concert

Chamber Music
© Alex Kostromin
For Camille Saint-Saëns and Gabriel Fauré, the two most senior figures of French music at the end of the First World War, the string quartet represented a summit to be scaled before it was too late. Saint-Saëns returned to the genre in 1918, twenty years after his First Quartet, while Fauré devoted his final opus to the genre, a work that was premiered a few months after his death. In these swansongs, each composer placed a part of his heritage: Mozartian clarity for the one, harmonic refinement for the other. Showing great modesty – with entertaining episodes on the one hand, and concision on the other – both composers aimed for lasting appeal rather than immediate success.


Mon 26 August 2024
Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice


Louise Tchalik and Gabriel Tchalik violins
Sarah Tchalik viola
Marc Tchalik cello


Gabriel FAURÉ
String Quartet

String Quartet no. 2 in G major
In collaboration with the Peggy Guggenheim Collection, Venice
Delegated production Palazzetto Bru Zane