Fauré and his pupils

Kindred Quartets

Chamber Music
The Accademia Teatro alla Scala and the Palazzetto Bru Zane continue their collaboration. Having previously devoted themselves to the mélodies and operatic arias of Jules Massenet, the quartets of César Franck, and the vocal productions of the winners of the Prix de Rome, the students of the academy turn their attention this season to piano quartets by Gabriel Fauré and his successors. The composer Léon Boëllmann (1862-1897), who followed the same path as Fauré – studying at the École Niedermeyer, then pursuing a career as an organist – features prominently in this programme. For although he was not among Fauré’s composition students at the Conservatoire, he nevertheless adopted his manner. A comparison between the piano quartets of Fauré (1880, 1886) and the one by Boëllmann (1887) shows this quite clearly.

The concert of 23 May in Venice will be followed by a cocktail.


Thu 23 May 2024
Palazzetto Bru Zane, Venice
Tue 28 May 2024
Ridotto dei palchi A. Toscanini - Teatro alla Scala, Milan


Artists of the Accademia Teatro alla Scala

Chiara Rollini violin
Yanina Prakudovich viola
Andrea Cavalazzi cello
Riccardo Stiffone piano


Gabriel FAURÉ
Quatuor avec piano en sol mineur no 2, op. 45 :
I. Allegro molto moderato – II. Scherzo : Allegro molto – III. Adagio non troppo – IV. Finale : Allegro molto

Quatuor avec piano en fa mineur, op. 10 :
I. Allegro un poco moderato – II. Scherzo. Presto – III. Andante – IV. Allegro
Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
Gabriel Fauré