Touring production

Yes!

by Maurice Yvain
Operetta Light Music
“The originality of this score lay in the way it was written. It was composed for two pianos. Wiener and Doucet had convinced me that it was possible to replace the orchestra with a twosome like this. Two virtuosos: Léon Kartun and Raffit brought about the huge success of Yes !, the new title of the piece. The press were unanimous in praising the libretto and the music. Which is worth mentioning, since it’s such a rare occurrence.” This is how Maurice Yvain himself described the production of the work in his memoirs entitled Ma belle opérette. The cast counted on the success of the famous Arletty, who had replaced Christiane d’Or at the last minute. The score, with its typical interwar rhythms, was initially written for two pianos because of limited space at the Théâtre des Capucines. Depending on where the operetta was revived, Yvain added 12 jazz musicians (Théâtre des Variétés) and up to 35 for the Apollo (but never abandoned the original two pianos which gave this operetta such a unique flavour). The action runs through all the themes of bourgeois comedy inherited from Feydeau, while featuring several particularly nostalgic numbers.
Versailles Besançon Fréjus Puteaux La Rochelle Dinan Reims Paris Vichy Charleroi Niort Haguenau

Programme

Operetta in 3 acts to a libretto by Pierre Soulaine, René Pujol and Jacques Bousquet. Music by Maurice Yvain. Lyrics by Albert Willemetz. Premiered at the Théâtre des Capucines, in Paris, on 26 January 1928.

DURATION: 2:15

Dates

Fri 8 November 2019
20.30
Théâtre Montansier, Versailles
Sat 9 November 2019
20.30
Théâtre Montansier, Versailles
Sun 10 November 2019
15.00
Théâtre Montansier, Versailles
Wed 13 November 2019
19.00
Théâtre Ledoux - Scène nationale de Besançon, Besançon
Thu 14 November 2019
20.00
Théâtre Ledoux - Scène nationale de Besançon, Besançon
Sun 24 November 2019
17.00
Théâtre Le Forum, Fréjus
Fri 29 November 2019
20.30
Conservatoire J.B. Lully, Puteaux
Thu 5 December 2019
19.30
La Coursive, La Rochelle
Fri 6 December 2019
20.30
La Coursive, La Rochelle
Tue 10 December 2019
20.30
Théâtre Des Jacobins, Dinan
Fri 13 December 2019
20.30
Opéra de Reims, Reims
Sat 14 December 2019
20.30
Opéra de Reims, Reims
Thu 19 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Fri 20 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sat 21 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Thu 26 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Fri 27 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sat 28 December 2019
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sun 29 December 2019
15.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Tue 31 December 2019
19.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Thu 2 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Fri 3 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sat 4 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Tue 7 January 2020
19.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Wed 8 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Thu 9 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Fri 10 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sat 11 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sun 12 January 2020
15.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Tue 14 January 2020
19.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Wed 15 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Thu 16 January 2020
20.00
Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Sun 19 January 2020
15.00
Opéra de Vichy, Vichy
Sun 26 January 2020
16.00
Palais des Beaux-Arts, Charleroi
Thu 26 March 2020
20.30
Le Moulin du Roc, Niort
Tue 31 March 2020
20.30
Relais Culturel, Haguenau

Performers

Vladislav Galard and Bogdan Hatisi direction
François Gauthier-Lafaye stage design
Benjamin Moreau costumes
Yvon Julou light design
Julie Leprou stage manager

COMPAGNIE LES BRIGANDS
Totte Clarisse Dalles
Loulou / Clémentine Caroline Binder
Marquita Negri Emmanuelle Goizé
Mme de Saint-Aiglefin Anne-Emmanuelle Davy
M. de Saint-Aiglefin Gilles Bugeaud
René Gavard, le roi du vermicelle Éric Boucher
Maxime Gavard, son fils Célian d’Auvigny
César Mathieu Dubroca
Roger Flannan Obé

Paul-Marie Barbier musical direction, piano and vibraphone
Matthieu Bloch double bass
Thibault Perriard percussion and piano
Associate Production Bru Zane France
Executive Production Compagnie Les Brigands
Co-production Théâtre Montansier – Versailles / Opéra de Reims / La Coursive – Scène Nationale de La Rochelle
Joint realisation Athénée Théâtre Louis-Jouvet, Paris
Bru Zane Mediabase
Digital resources for French Romantic music
The website hosts articles on people, works and topics authored by musicologists and historians collaborating with Palazzetto Bru Zane.