Touring production

Summer Night

Arias, mélodies and instrumental pieces by Saint-Saëns, Ropartz, Berlioz, Chausson, Offenbach, Fauré, etc.
Concert Recital
As the symbiosis between the art of the poet and that of the composer, the French mélodie became the jewel in the crown of the music of the ‘Belle Époque’ in all the Parisian salons between 1870 and 1914. Moreover, the genre also turned, little by little, towards the concert hall, and decked itself in the hues of the orchestra thanks to the skill of Duparc, Saint-Saëns and Debussy. But curiously enough, in the space between simple piano accompaniment and the vast symphony orchestra, only a few works availed themselves of the richness and variety offered by chamber forces. Three such pieces, Chausson’s Chanson perpétuelle, Lekeu’s Nocturne and Fauré’s cycle La Bonne Chanson, by placing a string quartet and a piano around the singer, combine the characteristics of the mélodie with those of the piano quintet, forming a whole whose tone colours fluctuate between intimacy and orchestral ambition. An isolated case in the history of music, these pioneering compositions have acquired a fame still undimmed today. The programme proposed by the Palazzetto Bru Zane, in close collaboration with Véronique Gens, experiments with the idea of applying the principle of transcription to her favourite repertoire. Alongside the three works mentioned above, music by celebrated composers mingles with unknown pieces to retrace a succession of emotional states within a nocturnal ambience: recollection, tranquillity, dreams, terror.
Montmorillon Annecy Venice Paris


Crépuscule. Nuit d’amour
Gabriel FAURÉ: Quintette avec piano n° 1 (I. Molto Moderato)
Guillaume LEKEU: Nocturne
Gabriel FAURÉ: La Lune blanche luit dans les bois  (La Bonne Chanson – n° 3)

Rêve. Nuit d’ailleurs
Fernand DE LA TOMBELLE: Orientale*
Hector BERLIOZ: L’Île inconnue* (Les Nuits d’été – n° 6)
Jules MASSENET: Nuit d’Espagne*
Camille SAINT-SAËNS: Désir de l’Orient*


Cauchemar. Nuit d’angoisse
Ernest CHAUSSON: Chanson perpétuelle
Guy ROPARTZ: Ceux qui parmi les morts d'amour* (Quatre Poèmes – n° 3)

Ivresse. Nuit de fête
Charles-Marie WIDOR: Quintette avec piano n° 1 op. 7 (III. Molto Vivace)
Louis GUGLIELMI (alias LOUIGUY): La Vie en rose*
André MESSAGER: J’ai deux amants* (tiré de L’Amour masqué)
Reynaldo HAHN: La Dernière Valse* (tiré de Une revue)

Transcriptions by Alexandre Dratwicki

DURATION: 1:30 intermission included


Sat 24 August 2019
Espace Gartempe, Montmorillon
Fri 30 August 2019
Église Sainte Bernadette, Annecy
Fri 20 September 2019
Scuola Grande San Giovanni Evangelista, Venice
Mon 15 June 2020
Auditorium du Musée du Louvre, Paris


Véronique Gens soprano
Pierre Fouchenneret, Pablo Schatzman, Guillaume Chilemme, Shuichi Okada* violins
Léa Hennino viola
Pauline Buet cello
David Violi piano

*variable distribution according to the representations
Production Bru Zane France

Bru Zane
Classical Radio

George Onslow
Quintetto per strumenti a fiato pt.8