8th Festival
Palazzetto Bru Zane Paris

A summer night

Arias, mélodies and instrumental pieces by Saint-Saëns, Ropartz, Berlioz, Chausson, Messager, Fauré, etc.
Live Concert Recital Auditorium du Musée du Louvre
As the symbiosis between the art of the poet and that of the composer, the French mélodie became the jewel in the crown of the music of the ‘Belle Époque’ in all the Parisian salons between 1870 and 1914. Moreover, the genre also turned, little by little, towards the concert hall, and decked itself in the hues of the orchestra thanks to the skill of Duparc, Saint-Saëns and Debussy. But curiously enough, in the space between simple piano accompaniment and the vast symphony orchestra, only a few works availed themselves of the richness and variety offered by chamber forces. Three such pieces, Chausson’s Chanson perpétuelle, Lekeu’s Nocturne and Fauré’s cycle La Bonne Chanson, by placing a string quartet and a piano around the singer, combine the characteristics of the mélodie with those of the piano quintet, forming a whole whose tone colours fluctuate between intimacy and orchestral ambition. An isolated case in the history of music, these pioneering compositions have acquired a fame still undimmed today. The programme proposed by the Palazzetto Bru Zane, in close collaboration with Véronique Gens, experiments with the idea of applying the principle of transcription to her favourite repertoire. Alongside the three works mentioned above, music by celebrated composers mingles with unknown pieces to retrace a succession of emotional states within a nocturnal ambience: recollection, tranquillity, dreams, terror.


Crépuscule. Nuit d’amour Gabriel FAURÉ: Quintette avec piano n° 1 (I. Molto Moderato) Guillaume LEKEU: Nocturne Gabriel FAURÉ: La Lune blanche luit dans les bois  (La Bonne Chanson – n° 3) Rêve. Nuit d’ailleurs Fernand DE LA TOMBELLE: Orientale Hector BERLIOZ: L’Île inconnue (Les Nuits d’été – n° 6) Jules MASSENET: Nuit d’Espagne Camille SAINT-SAËNS: Désir de l’Orient ENTRACTE Cauchemar. Nuit d’angoisse Ernest CHAUSSON: Chanson perpétuellev Guy ROPARTZ: Ceux qui parmi les morts d'amour (Quatre Poèmes – n° 3) L’Aube. Nuit de fête Charles-Marie WIDOR: Quintette avec piano n° 1 op. 7 (III. Molto Vivace) Marcel LOUIGUY: La Vie en rose André MESSAGER: J’ai deux amants (tiré de L’Amour masqué) Reynaldo HAHN: La Dernière Valse (tiré de Une revue) DURATION: 1:30 interval included


Mon 15 June 2020
Auditorium du Musée du Louvre, Paris


Véronique Gens soprano I GIARDINI Pierre Fouchenneret, Pablo Schatzman Guillaume Chilemme, Shuichi Okada* violins Léa Hennino viola Pauline Buet cello David Violi piano *the cast varies depending on the performance date
In co-production with the Louvre Museum

Bru Zane
Classical Radio

George Onslow
Quintetto per strumenti a fiato pt.8