The world of César Franck (1822-90)

The supreme model

No festival dedicated to César Franck could overlook his masterly Sonata for piano and violin (1886), dedicated to and championed by Eugène Ysaÿe until it became one of the staples of the late nineteenth-century French chamber repertoire. Maria and Nathalia Milstein present it here, surrounded by early twentieth-century pieces by Lili Boulanger (Nocturne and Cortège) and Mel Bonis. The latter unofficially attended Franck’s organ class at the Conservatoire and followed in his footsteps throughout her life. Her Sonata for violin and piano (1914) bears witness to this, and is also enriched by the research into Greek music conducted by another of her teachers, Louis-Albert Bourgault-Ducoudray.


Fri 27 May 2022
Palazzetto Bru Zane, Venice


Maria Milstein violin
Nathalia Milstein piano


Works by César FRANCK, Mel BONIS, Lili BOULANGER